简介

慧荣科技的 SM768 USB 显示/扩展坞解决方案可通过 USB 接口让多台显示器以 4K 超高清显示。目标应用包括在共享办公室、会议室、教室或酒店中使用的 USB 显示扩展坞适配器。

SM768 的 USB 扩展坞解决方案,结合高图形性能以及低功耗,搭载 CAT™(内容自适应技术)压缩技术提供高压缩率,同时对主机 CPU 降低处理负载。慧荣科技全新开发的独家技术 InstantView®,可让拓展坞的用户可以立即将计算机屏幕镜像到任何外接显示器,而无需安装显示驱动程序。

慧荣科技采用 SM768 的 USB扩展坞解决方案现已上市并且兼容于所有最新版 Microsoft Windows、Apple macOS 和 Linux 操作系统、Android 和 ChromeOS。慧荣科技同时提供参考设计套件,做为终端产品设计的简单设计方案,有助于扩展坞制造商缩减开发时间,并缩短新产品设计的上市日程。

想看更多慧荣科技的视频,请点 慧荣科技B站。

特点

  • CPU:ARM Cortex R5 处理器 
  • GPU:128 位 2D 图形引擎支持硬件指针、视频覆盖和 Alpha 混合
  • 系统接口:USB 3.0 设备或 PCI-E Gen2 x1/x2 通道
  • 单芯片中 2x 独立显示通道
  • CAT(内容自适应技术)可通过自适应压缩算法加速 USB 显示
  • 显示分辨率高达
    ・4K (3840x2160) @30Hz
    ・HD(1920x1080) 和 2K @60Hz
  • 显示模式:扩展桌面单/双视图、克隆、纵向/横向模式
  • HDCP内建 1x HDMI v1.4 输出并支持 HDCP
  • 双 CRT 350MHz DAC RGB 输出
  • 双通道 LVDS
  • 双 24 位数字 RGB/TTL 视频输出 
  • 硬件加速视频解码器:H.264、MPEG 2/4、MJPEG 等
  • 单一封装中嵌入式 256MB DDR3 的选项 (MCM)。支持最高 1GB 的外部 DDR
  • 为外设集成 4 端口 USB 2.0 主机和集线器:键盘/鼠标/网络/存储设备
  • 支持 I2S 音频
  • 双 I2C 和 SPI
  • 通用 IO:GPIO/UART/JTAG
  • 两个 ZV 端口以捕捉从相机或其他设备传入的视频
  • 软件支持
    ・Windows 7/8/10 和服务器,32 位和 64 位
    ・macOS X
    ・Linux OS(Ubuntu、RedHat、SUSE 等)
    ・Android
    ・ChromeOS

技术

CAT™(内容自适应技术)

慧荣科技的 CAT™(内容自适应技术)采用多重影像 /视频处理算法压缩显示内容来降低所需的带宽。同时,CAT 以最低的 CPU 使用量来达成低延迟和高画质显示。

CAT 自适应地处理桌面内容
  • 图形/3D 图像通过高压缩率 MJPEG 编解码器进行处理
  • 文字将通过无损协议进行压缩
  • 视频将以原始压缩格式传输,并以 SoC 加速的解码器进行解码

通过将大量的压缩工作下放到硬件加速器,CAT 技术会运行得更快,CPU 的负载也会减轻。与竞争对手相比,SMI CAT 的负载减少了 40%~70%。

低延迟
  • SM768 显示处理通道(压缩和解压缩)是降低延迟的理想技术
  • 全高清帧的显示延迟 < 16ms
  • 以下实验室测试图像显示了与 Wireless Miracast 类似的测量。左监视器为本机显示,右监视器为 SMI 显示 SOC。两个监视器都被克隆以显示相同的视频片段,且该片段的帧计数每秒增加 60 次
  • 结果显示两台监视器在任何时候都显示相同的帧,这意味着延迟达到最小,且差异对人眼而言不明显

适用于 USB 连接至显示器桥接的全面系统解决方案

与竞争设备相比,慧荣科技图形 SoC 提供超低的主 CPU 负载,取得完美的用户体验。这受益于 CAT 压缩功能提供的杰出图像质量、双显示器模式中的低延迟、低功耗和紧凑尺寸。慧荣科技选择的架构还可让 OEM 厂家只需几个外部组件即可实现完整的扩展坞和其它产品设计。

USB、CAT 软件及实时操作系统可在 SM768 中运行。使得此产品能够支持最新的扩展坞和USB外置设备,为家庭、办公室、商店和工厂中各类计算设备带来更大的灵活性、易用性和便携性。另外值得注意的是,部分 SM768 设备还提供了 PCI-e 接口以配合其它类型的主机使用,让 OEM 厂家能够为 USB 市场和其它应用领域开发设计。

InstantView®

为USB扩展坞提供即插即用的显示镜像

慧荣科技还开发了一个新的 InstantView软件应用程序,该应用程序可以无缝配置主机内容以在任何显示器上查看,而无需显示驱动程序。

Instantview Logo
Instantview Screen

InstantView 软件是在主机上运行的应用程序。与扩展坞建立 USB 连接后,将在主机上自动启动。将已安装 InstantView 应用程序的计算机连接到扩展坞后,计算机屏幕上将出现欢迎消息。通过点击“连接”按钮,用户可以立即将计算机屏幕镜像链接到扩展坞的单显示或双显示输出。提供给客户“即插即用”的使用体验:没有延迟,也不需要安装驱动程序或其他软件。

InstantView软件支持即时屏幕镜像显示和拓展显示。此扩展显示选项的操作包括 InstantView 软件显示驱动程序的无提示安装,然后用户可以使用增强的双显示功能。无论用户选择镜像显示还是扩展显示选项,整个显示操作都通过直观且人性化的 InstantView 用户界面进行控制。无需专业IT支持人士介入。 了解更多关于 InstantView

Overview

Silicon Motion's SM768 USB display /docking station SoC enables multiple display at 4K ultra high definition through USB interface. Target applications include USB display docking station adapters used in shared office space, conference room, classroom, or hotel.

With Silicon Motion's proprietary technology, InstantView®, users of a docking station can instantly mirror their computer screen to any external display, with no need to install a display driver. Docking stations based on the SM768 solution combine high graphics performance with low CPU loading and low power consumption. The CAT™ (Content Adaptive Technology) compression technology implemented by Silicon Motion offers a high compression ratio while imposing a low processing overhead on the host computer's CPU. 

The Silicon Motion solution for USB docking stations based on the SM768 is available. SMI also provides reference design as the basis for an end product design helps docking station manufacturers to reduce development time and shorten time-to-market for new product designs. It is compatible with all current versions of the Microsoft Windows, Apple macOS, Linux operating systems, Android, and ChromeOS.

For more about Silicon Motion's videos, please link to SMI's Youtube Channel.

Features

  • CPU: ARM Cortex R5 Processor 
  • GPU: 128-bit 2D Graphics engine supports HW cursor, video overlay, and alpha blending
  • System interface: USB 3.0 Device or PCI-E Gen2 x1/x2 lanes
  • 2x independent display channels in a single chip
  • CAT (Content Adaptive Technology) to accelerate USB display by adaptive compression algorithms
  • Display Resolution up to
    ・4K (3840x2160)@30Hz
    ・HD(1920x1080) & 2K @60Hz
  • Display Modes: Extended Desktop Single & Dual View, Clone, Portrait/Landscape modes
  • Embedded 1x HDMI v1.4 transmitter supporting HDCP
  • Dual CRT 350MHz DAC RGB outputs
  • Dual-channel LVDS
  • Dual digital 24-bit RGB/TTL video output 
  • Hardware Accelerated Video Decoder: H.264, MPEG 2/4, MJPEG, etc.
  • Option to embed 256MB DDR3 in a single package (MCM). Support external DDR up to 1GB
  • Integrated 4-port USB 2.0 Host and Hub for peripherals: Keyboard/Mouse/Network/Storage
  • I2S for Audio support
  • Dual I2C and SPI
  • Common IO: GPIO/UART/JTAG
  • Two ZV ports to capture incoming video from cameras or other devices
  • Software Support
    ・Windows 7/8/10 & Servers, 32-bit, and 64-bit
    ・macOS X
    ・Linux OS(Ubuntu, RedHat, SUSE, etc)
    ・Android
    ・ChromeOS

Technologies

CAT™ (Content Adaptive Technology)

Silicon Motion's CAT™(Content Adaptive Technology) uses multiple image/video processing algorithms to compress display data and minimize bandwidth usage. At the same time, CAT uses minimal host CPU usage to achieve low latency and high-quality displays.

CAT processes desktop contents adaptively
  • Graphics/3D Image will be processed by high compression ratio MJPEG codec.

  • Text will be compressed by lossless proprietary protocol.

  • Video will be transferred in original compressed formats and decode in SoC's HW accelerated decoder

By offloading much of the compression work to a hardware accelerator, the CAT technology both runs faster and imposes less loading on the CPU. As will be shown later, this helps the SM768 to achieve very low CPU loading.

Low Latency
  • SM768 display process pipeline (compression & decompression) is optimized to reduce latency
  • Display latency for a full HD frame is < 16ms
  • Lab test picture below showed a measurement similar to Wireless Miracast. The left monitor is natively display, and the right monitor is SMI Display SOC. Both monitors are cloned to display the same video clip which has a frame counting number that increases 60 times per second
  • The result shows both monitors are showing the same frame at any time, which means the latency is minimal and the difference is not distinguishable to human eyes

Comprehensive system solution for USB-to-display bridging

Compared to competing devices, then, SMI Graphics SoC offers much lower host CPU loading for an unimpaired user experience. This is backed by the excellent picture quality provided by the CAT compression feature, low latency in dual-display mode, low power consumption, and compact dimensions. The architecture was chosen by Silicon Motion also enables OEMs to implement a complete docking station and other product designs with few external components.

The USB and CAT software as well as a real-time operating system run inside the SM768. This explains how it is able to support the latest docking station and dongle designs which are helping to bring greater flexibility, convenience, and portability to many types of computing equipment in the home, office, store, and factory. It is also worth noting that the same SM768 device also features a PCI-e interface for use with other types of hosts, enabling OEMs to develop designs both for the USB market and for other applications.

InstantView®

Enabling USB docking station to plugin-and display

Silicon Motion has developed a new InstantView software application that seamlessly configures the host content for viewing on any display, with no need for a display driver.

Instantview Logo
Instantview Screen

The InstantView software supports instant screen mirroring to display. The software also supports an "Extended Display" option. The operation of this Extended Display option involves the silent installation by the InstantView software of the relevant display driver, after which enhanced dual-display functions are available to the user. Whether the user chooses the mirroring or extended display option, the entire display operation is controlled via the intuitive and user-friendly InstantView user interface. This eliminates the need for any intervention by IT support staff.

The InstantView software is an application that runs on the host computer. It automatically starts up on the host computer when a USB connection is made to a docking station. As soon as a computer with the InstantView app is connected to a docking station, a welcome message appears on the computer screen. This enables the user to instantly mirror the computer screen to a single or dual display outputs linked to the docking station, by clicking the "Connect" button. The effect for the user is of  "plug-and-play" display functionality: there is no delay, and no need for driver installation or other software operation. Learn more about InstantView