为我们共同的世界服务

让我们的世界变得更好是一项正确的事情,同时对企业也有好处。我们的产品有助于让世界使用更节能的固态存储技术。我们与世界一流的制造合作伙伴共同合作,广泛投资在环境可持续性和供应链管理方面。同时在办公室中,我们积极回收并利用各项物资、节约水电的使用。 透过遵循的运营流程,确保并尽职尽责为客户提供高质量的产品和服务。

无晶圆厂商业模式

半导体行业已经从传统的 IDM(集成设备制造商)发展成为分工模式,专家专注于行业链的特定部分,例如设计、制造或组装,并针对其专业性进行优化。这个模式使无晶圆厂半导体公司慧荣科技可以充分利用规模经济、技术领先地位和卓越运营,其中包括针对我们外包的半导体行业其他专家所投资的永续性环境,以及供应链管理。我们认为,与必须自行构建并管理所有链相比,这种分工的行业模式可以实现更高效的供应链管理。

作为一家无晶圆厂半导体公司,慧荣科技致力于设计集成电路并将制造、组装和测试外包给第三方供应商。通过专注于集成电路设计工作,我们的直接环境足迹相对较小。我们更多的责任是管理我们更大的间接环境足迹,公司供应链主要外包给世界一流的供应商,例如企业公民最佳实践的行业领导者——TSMC 和 ASE / SPIL。例如,我们的主要代工供应商 TSMC 是全球首家加入 RE100(倡议全球企业 100% 使用可再生能源的承诺)的半导体公司。我们与所有供应商密切合作,监控其生产过程、材料和产量,以确保供应商共同履行我们的企业社会责任承诺。我们支持供应商在减少水消耗和温室气体排放方面的目标。

尽职采购

公司所有铸造、装配、测试和关键组件的供应商都遵守责任商业联盟(RBA)的行为准则。我们的主要供应商均遵循《国际劳工组织关于工作中基本原则和权力宣言》和《联合国全球契约》要求。此外,我们与供应商紧密合作,使用 RBA 的冲突矿产报告模板(CMRT)来追踪源矿物,并确保在生产产品时不使用冲突矿物质,从而努力打造 DRC 无冲突供应链。

我们的代工供应商是 TSMC 和中芯国际。我们的组装和测试供应商是 ASE / SPIL和 King Yuan Electronics。我们的 SSD 解决方案主要使用 Kioxia 和 Western Digital NAND 闪存。所有这些供应商都是企业责任方面的行业领导者。

我们采用《无冲突矿物声明》指导产品中所用矿物的采购。(根据《多德-弗兰克法案》第 1502 条的规定,冲突矿物包括来自刚果民主共和国或邻国的钽、锡、钨和金。)

固态存储对环境更友好

公司业务专注于设计控制器和专用集成电路,其中专用集成电路用于管理 NAND 闪存,并将这些半导体存储组件转变为不同类别固态存储设备。从数据中心日益使用的企业级 SSD 到广泛的消费级 SSD,应用于 PC 和多数智能手机中的 eMMC/UFS 行动嵌入式存储装置。若是没有控制器和 NAND 闪存,今天我们熟悉的智能手机将不复存在。此外,根据大多数研究,与 HDD 相比,SSD 在环境友好方面更胜一筹,因为其在 PC 和数据中心中运行时更能显着省电。

随着 SSD 变得越来越具有成本效益,OEM 已迅速将 PC 和其他客户端设备中的SSD 替换为 HDD。不仅如此,SSD 还有助于提供性能更好、外形更小、重量更轻且更可靠的产品,并且能够节省功耗并延长电池寿命。与 HDD 相比,SSD 的效率更高。在传输文件时,每瓦 MBps(兆字节/秒)的功耗大约可以降低 5 至 15 倍,待机模式下的功耗则降低 8 倍左右。SSD 作为没有机械运动的固态部件更加节能,因为它不会因摩擦和噪声而损失能量,并且因启动和加快运行速度而产生额外的功耗。

数据中心是全球电力的主要消费者,受益于固态硬盘的使用。SSD 的优点包括其更优秀的可靠性和性能,可减少操作维护和占地空间,同时提供了更低的总成本,并且重要的是,SSD 可以使用更少的能耗进行操作和散热

产品质量保证

自 1999 年以来,我们已获得了 DNV 的 ISO 9001 认证,并始终遵守完整的 ISO 9000 质量管理体系系列,这一体系基于许多质量管理原则,其中包括高度关注客户需求和期望,保证公司领导的目的和方向统一,以过程为导向推动公司管理和业务流程的持续改善。遵循 ISO 标准确保慧荣科技能够始终如一地为客户提供高质量的产品和服务。

我们的产品不含任何受限用化学品,并且全部符合 RoHS 和 REACH 要求。

低环境影响办公室

为了最大程度地减少发送到焚化炉或垃圾填埋场的废物,我们所有的办公室都积极回收利用各项物资。同时定期评估减少电力和水消耗的方法。我们减少电力消耗的措施主要集中在几个关键领域:照明、空调和电子设备。如今我们公司的 PC 都使用 SSD,其好处之一就是降低了电力消耗和碳足迹。

供应链与环境 — 关键指标

2018 2019 2020
环境管理
供应商环境事故件数 0 0 0
供应商制定环境政策文件比率 100% 100% 100%
能源效率
办公室用电量(MWh) 6,366 7,002 7,398
办公室单位面积用电密度(MWh/㎡) 0.470 0.480 0.424
温室气体排放
IC 制造、组装和测试的排放量(tons CO2e) 41,286 48,263 46,955
每位员工的排放量(tons CO2e/员工) 32 39 35
每个 IC 的排放量(kg CO2e/IC) 0.063 0.088 0.081

Stewards of our one world

Taking care of our one world is the right thing to do and is also good for business. Our products help transition the world to more energy efficient solid-state storage technology. We leverage our world-class manufacturing partners' extensive investments in environmental sustainability and supply chain management. And, in our offices, we actively recycle and compost and are conscientious in our use of electricity and water. The many operational processes that we follow ensure our customers consistently receive high quality products and services which are provided responsibly.

Fabless business model

The semiconductor industry has evolved from traditional IDMs (integrated device manufacturers) to a disaggregated model where specialists focus on specific parts of the industry food chain, such as design, fabrication or assembly, and are optimized for their specialties. This model allows Silicon Motion, a fabless semiconductor company, to leverage economies of scale, technology leadership and operational excellence, including investments in environmental sustainability and supply chain management of other specialists in the semiconductor industry to whom we outsource. We believe this disaggregated industry model allows for much more efficient and effective supply chain management than if we had to build and manage all the links of the chain ourselves.

As a fabless semiconductor company, Silicon Motion focuses on designing integrated circuits and outsources fabrication, assembly and testing to third party vendors. By focusing on integrated circuit design work, our direct environmental footprint is relatively small. Our significantly larger responsibility is managing our much larger indirect environmental footprint—our supply chain that we primarily outsource to world-class suppliers such as TSMC and ASE/SPIL, which are among the industry leaders in corporate-citizenship best practices. As an example, TSMC, our primary foundry supplier became the first semiconductor company worldwide to join RE100, a commitment and roadmap to source 100% renewable power globally. We work closely with all our suppliers in monitoring their processes, materials and yields and to ensure they meet our corporate social responsibility commitments. We support the goals of our suppliers in reducing water consumption and greenhouse gas emissions.

Responsible sourcing

All our foundry, assembly, testing and key component suppliers comply with the Code of Conduct of the Responsible Business Alliance (RBA). Our primary suppliers have all adopted The International Labour Organization's Declaration on Fundamental Principles and Rights at Work and the United Nations Global Compact. Additionally, we strive for a DRC Conflict-Free supply chain by working closely with our suppliers in using RBA's Conflict Minerals Reporting Template (CMRT) to trace source minerals and ensure conflict minerals are not used in manufacturing our products.

Our foundry suppliers are TSMC and SMIC. Our assembly and testing suppliers are ASE/SPIL and King Yuan Electronics. For our SSD solutions, we primarily use Kioxia and Western Digital NAND flash. All these suppliers are industry leaders in corporate responsibility.

We have adopted a Conflict‐Free Minerals Statement that guides the sourcing of minerals used in our products. (As defined by the Dodd‐Frank Act, Section 1502, conflict minerals include tantalum, tin, tungsten and gold from the Democratic Republic of Congo, or adjoining countries.)

Solid state storage is better for the environment

Our business is focused on designing controllers, specialized integrated circuits that manage NAND flash and turn these semiconductor memory components into different categories of solid state storage devices, from enterprise-grade SSDs increasingly used in data centers to client-grade SSDs already widely used in PCs and eMMC/UFS mobile embedded storage found in most smartphones. Without controllers and NAND flash, smartphones with which we are all very familiar would not exist today. Additionally, according to most studies, SSDs are better for the environment compared to HDDs as they consume significantly less power to operate in both PCs and data centers.

OEMs have been rapidly replacing HDDs with SSDs in PCs and other client devices as SSDs have become increasingly cost effective and furthermore, provide better performance, are smaller in form factor and lighter, are more reliable and help save power and improve battery life. SSDs are highly efficient compared to HDDs and use approximately 5 to 15x less power in terms of MBps (Megabytes per second)-per-watt when transferring files and 8x less power when on stand-by mode. SSDs are more energy efficient because they are solid-state with no mechanical moving parts that lose energy from friction and noise and do not consume power just to boot-up and accelerate to operating speed.

Data centers are a major consumer of electricity world-wide and benefit from using SSDs. Benefits of SSDs include better reliability and performance, but also reduced operating maintenance, occupy less real estate, provide lower total cost of ownership and importantly, use less power to operate and cool.

Product quality assurance

We have been ISO 9001 certified by DNV since 1999 and remain in compliance with the complete ISO 9000 family of quality management systems, which are based on a number of quality management principles that include a strong focus on customer needs and expectations, unity of purpose and direction of company leadership, a process-oriented approach to management and continuous business process improvements. Following ISO helps Silicon Motion ensure that our customers receive consistently high quality products and services.

Our products are free of restricted chemicals and are all RoHS and REACH compliant.

Low impact offices

To minimize waste sent to incinerators or landfills, all our offices actively recycle and compost. We regularly evaluate ways to reduce our electricity and water consumption. Our initiatives relating to reducing our electricity consumption are focused on several key areas: lighting, air conditioning and electronic equipment. Our company PCs now all use SSDs and one of the benefits of this is lower electricity consumption and carbon footprint.

Supply Chain and Environment — Key Metrics

2018 2019 2020
Environmental management
# of environmental incidents in suppliers 0 0 0
Suppliers with documented environmental policies 100% 100% 100%
Energy efficiency
Office electricity usage (MWh) 6,366 7,002 7,398
Office electricity usage per area (MWh per ㎡) 0.470 0.480 0.424
Greenhouse gas emissions
IC fabrication, assembly & testing GHG emissions (tons CO2e) 41,286 48,263 46,955
GHG emissions per employee (tons CO2e/employee) 32 39 35
GHG emissions per IC (kg CO2e/IC) 0.063 0.088 0.081